Hello world!

Those of you who know me know that cooking is one of my passions and one of my 87 hobbies! Cooking is a way to love our family.
I have wanted to do this for a long time. I am starting a recipe blog that I will try to send out somewhat regularly. Let your friends know about this site! Also let me know after you try the recipe and what you think!
Today for my first blog, you get 2 recipes. The best things in life are free, like grandchildren, kisses, love, doggies, and Bonnie’s recipes! Have a great week and if it is as snowy as they say it will be, have fun cooking!!
Bonnie

Made these this weekend and they were excellent. Tom was rolling  his eyes heavenward in appreciation!!

Nut ‘n Honey Pancakes

2 cups buttermilk  (if you don’t have buttermilk -I never do- add 2 tbl vinegar per 1 c milk. voila! homemade buttermilk)
1 cup veg oil
3 eggs
1 1/2 teas vanilla
2 c. baking mix (such as Bisquick)(can also use pancake mix but will have to add slightly more to make batter less runny)
2 teas confectioner’s sugar
2 teas sugar
1/4 teas baking powder
butter
1/2 c chopped walnuts
1/2 c. chopped pecans
honey

—> 1. Combine the buttermilk, oil eggs, vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Whisk together. Whisk the dry ingredients together (excluding nuts) in another bowl. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and whisk together.
2. Heat the grill till hot and brush with butter. Ladle 1/4 c batter to make approx 4 in pancake. Mix the nuts together. Sprinkle nuts on each pancake, drizzle with honey. Flip when pancake begins to bubble and edges curl a bit.
3. Serve hot with your favorite syrup! Bliss!

The second recipe today has become such a favorite that college boy Danny asks for it each and every time he comes home! This is one of those recipes that looks  and tastes like you slaved for hours but you didn’t!!! The taste is almost as good as my Italian mother-in-law’s homemade ravs! I usually double the recipe. If you have seen Tom and Danny eat, you know why!


Raviolli Casserole

1 pkg frozen cheese raviolli (25 oz)
1/4 cup butter cubed
1/4 c. flour
1/4 teas salt
1/4 teas nutmeg
2 c. milk
1/4 c. white wine or veg broth (I usually use chicken broth)
basil
3 cups shredded mozerella cheese
3/4 c. parmesan cheese (divided)
2 1/2 c. spaghetti sauce
——> Cook raaviolli according to pkg. directions.
Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, melt butter. Stir in flour, salt and nutmeg till smooth, gradually add milk and broth (wine). Bring to a boil, cook and stir 1 minute until thickened.  Remove from heat, stir in the basil, and 1 c. mozarella cheese and 1/4 parmesan cheese.
Drain raviolli, toss with sauce mixture. Transfer to greased 13 x 9 in baking dish. top with 1 c. mozarella cheese and spaghetti sauce, sprinkle with remaining cheeses.
Cover and bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Uncover, bake 5 – 10 minutes longer or until bubbly. Let stand 10 to 15 minutes before serving.  Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope you enjoy these!

Bonnie

11 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Beth Wright Says:

    Bonnie! I can’t wait to try these on Hal and Emma! Thanks for doing this blog!

  2. Georgia Weaver Hannay Says:

    Hi Bonnie,

    Thanks for letting me know about your recipe blog. I will let you know when I try any of your recipes.

    Take care,
    Georgia

  3. jodie markel Says:

    thank you Bonnie,Ihave added to my favorites ,ane will be back often . I LIKE IT VERRY MUCH

  4. marcia marshall Says:

    i did print out the ravioli recipe, but wonder how many days i have to diet to counteract all that awesome cheese/pasta that love! LOL

  5. Gwen Lenart Says:

    You know I hate to cook but you have to know how much I love you. next time my house you make that chocolate cake. see ya tomorrow. love ya

  6. Susie Says:

    Hugssssssss Chickie, Love your recipes and web page. I am sure my family is going to enjoy the dishes I make from here.

  7. quiltnewsnancy Says:

    Hi Bonnie,
    It seems that we have a mutual friend – Betty K. Although she claims that she “doesn’t do blogs” she recommends that we exchange blog addresses. I love to Cook and am eager to try your Olive Garden Soup recipe. It is my husband’s favorite.
    I am slowly developing my quilting BLOG. I do a little, read a little (BLOGGING FOR DUMMIES) and do a little more. Your site is SO effective visually. It looks yummy and I know your recipes will be yummy as soon as I try them.
    quiltnewsnancy.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

