Valentine’s Treats

Valentine’s Day is Saturday and the way to your honey’s heart is CHOCOLATE!!

Tomorrow is my daughter and son-in-law’s 5th anniversary. Happy Anniversary Nate and Jenele! 5 years ago we were up to our ears in red, including red ice sculptures made in large heart molds to line the path as the guests entered the hall. (I thought I would never get the red food coloring off my hands in time to be a cleaned-up mother of the bride!) It was a beautiful, wonderful wedding and I can’t believe it’s been 5 years!

This is a blog: which means, I share with you and you talk to me. Out of over 150 hits this week, only 6 brave souls left a comment. C’mon, talk to me – about ANYTHING! I love hearing from you.

Go out tomorrow and get the ingredients for both of these very easy valentine’s treats. Your sweetie will thank you!

Hot Fudge Cake

1 c. flour

3/4 c. sugar

2 TBL. baking cocoa

2 teas. baking powder

1/4 teas. salt

1/2 c. milk

2 TBLS. veg. oil

1 teas. vanilla

1 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. baking cocoa

1-3/4 c. hot water

—–> Combine the flour, sugar, 2 TBL. baking cocoa, baking powder, and salt in mixing bowl and mix well. Add the milk, oil and vanilla, and mix well. Pour the mixture into an ungreased 9 x 9 square baking pan. Mix the brown sugar and 1/4 c. baking cocoa in a small bowl and sprinkle over the batter.

Pour the hot water over the top, and do NOT stir. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes or until the cake tests done. The cake will be on the top, the sauce on the bottom. Serve a warm portion of the cake  with the chocolate sauce spooned over the top and add a dollop of icecream or whipped cream.

Note: No calories if eaten on Valentine’s Day!!

This is the esiest candy I have ever found! My honey LOVES chocolates from Heggy’s, but this year he is getting something very similar from me!!

Yummy Candy

1/2 c. butterscotch morsels

1/2 c. chocolate morsels

1/2 c. of a 3 oz. can of chow mein noodles

1/2 c. salted peanuts

—–> Combine butterscotch and chocolate morsels iin a double boiler. Melt over low heat and stir constantly. Turn off heat when melter. Add peanuts and noodles. Stir till all are mixed through. Drop by teaspoons on wax paper lined cookie sheet. Put into the freezer till set (15 to 20 minutes). Keep in refrigerator.

Go on – double the recipe. You know you want to!!! Happy Valentine’s Day all! https://i0.wp.com/valentineheartpictures.com/pictures/smallredheart.gif

Bonnie

5 Responses to “Valentine’s Treats”

  1. marcia marshall Says:

    ohhhhhh… this sounds good!

  2. Amy Says:

    Hi! I’m Holly’s littlest sister, Amy. I don’t really have a comment, just wanted to say SOMETHING? So Happy Valentine’s Day!
    Thanks for chatting with us!

  3. Britt Borden Says:

    Thank you for such a fantastic blog. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such a perfect way? I have a presentation that I am presently working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

Leave a Reply

